OLEY RIDES & SCHEDULE
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

week of 1/9/2012

5 posters

Go down

week of 1/9/2012 Empty week of 1/9/2012

Post  Admin Mon 09 Jan 2012, 8:14 pm

A long time ago i started riding the club rides with BCBC, and then i met some riders that turned into some really good friends that helped me go to the next level. i and we all got better by riding with the trexlertown saturday group rides sponsored by the academy. these rides were long steady base mile type rides in January and February, and got harder and faster in March. i got a lot stronger that spring and summer mostly because of the base miles i did the previous winter. they weren't hard fast miles where we went screaming up the hills and did fast pace lines all the time, they were consistent long tempo miles. for years this was the type of riding we did in January on the oley rides. i believe because of the lower rider numbers and loss of some of the veteran riders, we have lost that structure. truly i am the one of the last of the originals other than when Tom Grim joins our group. Actually it was Tom and myself that started the oley rides group. thank you Tom, for that.

There was a time when we had a larger group of riders for the saturday rides, the old days i guess. there was a time when we all understood that January was for long tempo endurance rides to build the base miles for the upcoming season, the old days i guess. there was a time when we would do long steady uphill grades and some of us would be in a bigger gear at 50 RPM to grind it out and work on leg strength, the old days i guess. the guys that were lifting thru the winter could get out and spin their legs to work off the muscle stress from the weekly lifting routine.